5 songs that influence my heart for mission

This week I am preparing to preach on God’s heart for World Mission from Psalm 67. As I do so I have 5 songs on my heart….4 have been influential on me for a few years and the 5th is a new one to me (although it’s a very old hymn):

1. Chris Bowater: Here I am

This was one of the first songs I ever learnt (alongside ‘Shine, Jesus, Shine’) and it helped me see the need to respond to the mission call.

Here I am, wholly available
As for me, I will serve the Lord
Here I am, wholly available
As for me, I will serve the Lord

The fields are white unto harvest
But O, the labourers are so few
So Lord, I give myself to help the reaping
To gather precious souls unto You

The time is right in the nation
For works of power and authority
God’s looking for a people who are willing
To be counted in His glorious victory

As salt are we ready to savour?
In darkness are we ready to be light?
God’s seeking out a very special people
To manifest His truth and His might

© 1981 Sovereign Lifestyle Music

 

2. Keith Green: Jesus commands us to go.

This song and the book ‘No Compromise’ were hugely influential when I was a teenager. I think he’s a bit extreme at the end, but the challenge is needed to rattle our cages…

 

3. Samuel Wesley: Facing a task unfinished.

I learnt this hymn when I worked for UCCF and was broken by the line ‘a need that, undiminished, rebukes our slothful ease‘.

 

4. Lecrae: Send me

I’ve never been a big rap fan, but I was in Mars Hill when Lecare got up and did this song…the words blew me away and made me search my heart.

 

5. Henry Frances Lyte: God of mercy, God of grace

I came across this hymn yesterday as I studied Psalm 67…this is a beautiful hymn. We’ll close the service on Sunday with it:

God of mercy, God of grace,
Show the brightness of Thy face;
Shine upon us, Savior, shine,
Fill Thy Church with light divine,
And Thy saving health extend,
Unto earth’s remotest end.

Let the people praise Thee, Lord!
Be by all that live adored;
Let the nations shout and sing
Glory to their Savior King,
At Thy feet their tribute pay,
And Thy holy will obey.

Let the people praise Thee, Lord!
Earth shall then her fruits afford,
God to man His blessings give,
Man to God devoted live;
All below and all above
One in joy and light and love.

Leave a Reply

