Dealing with Disappointment

I write this with a heavy heart. A very heavy heart.

It seems that every year I hear of a friend who has fallen morally, a church leader who has led his church in a harmful manner, or a ‘celebrity’ pastor who has had to take time out. It seems at times that everyone I have looked up to or been influenced by, fall.

At the moment I am going through a time of seeing this even more clearly.

I have a heavy heart.

Have you experienced this?

Are you experiencing this?

If you are, here are some thoughts that are helping me through this:

  • God is still on His throne
  • I placed them on a throne
  • Am I on a throne?
No matter what happens, God is still God. He is still sovereign. Reading through the history of Israel you will see a people who continually rebel and fall, but God is always in control. Indeed, Jesus was clear – He will build His church! We need to remember and trust in this truth.
For someone to fall in our opinion he had to be high in our opinion. That is, of all the men that have ‘fallen’, I had put them on a peda-stool. I expected more of them. I did not believe they needed grace. Thus, in some cases I have been an accessory to their fall.
I need to make sure that I don’t think that I will never fall. I need to remember that it is only the grace of God that keeps me. Pride goes before a fall!
Where does this lead me?
In a nut shell…be gracious. Show grace, trust in grace, live in grace.
2 thoughts on “Dealing with Disappointment

  1. Thanks for that helpful post, I too am guilty of so often expecting other Christians to behave far better than my sinful heart allows me to, and then get angry when they don’t make the bar that I myself can’t reach. Thanks for pointing us to Jesus and ‘amazing grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me.’ May God bless you in your ministry.

  2. Thanks for the post, was looking for something like this to encourage me! As I read was reminded of the encouragement of Hebrews 12, many have fallen but yet many have been faithful, praying God would be with those who have disappointed us and enabling us and many others to run faithfully! That we would be able to ‘join the crowd of witnesses’.

    ‘Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. 2 Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.’
    Hebrews 12

Leave a Reply

