Book Review: A Promise Kept

A Promise Kept: The story of an unforgettable love by Robertson McQuilkin is a personal account of how the New Testament Professor and President ofColumbiaUniversity gave up his career to care for his wife who was suffering with Alzheimer’s disease.

OVERVIEW

Robertson walks us through his very personal and at times painful account of what it was like to care for his wife as she slipped into the ravaging effects of Alzheimer’s disease over a number of years. He describes how his wife had to give up her public ministry, slipped into her own world, and how he cared for her and why.

GOOD POINTS

This is a short book (based on a magazine article you can read here) and wastes no time. Robertson is completely honest and utterly humble. This book takes you on an emotional roller coaster and brings you to tears as you read of a love that mirrors the gospel so clearly.

This book reminds us what ‘in sickness and in health’ really means and is a rally call for men to man-up and love their wives with the love of Christ. I read this book to my wife and was completely humbled and challenged by his love.

BAD POINTS

There are none in terms of the book itself. I cannot fault it.

The only things that worries me is that it looks and sounds like a book for women. But it is for men too. Also, as it is a hardback book, it is expensive. But I think it is worth the investment. It is much less than a football ticket or computer game – and a much better investment.

QUOTES

On why he gave up ‘Christian ministry’ for his wife: ‘To put God first means that all the responsibilities he gives you are first too.’

From his resignation speech: ‘She has cared for me fully and sacrificially all these years; if I cared for her for the next 40 years I would not be out of her debt. Duty, however, can be grim and stoic. But there is more: I love Muriel. She is a delight to me…I don’t have to care for her. I get to! It is a high honour to care for so wonderful a person’

I have tears in my eyes just typing this.

WHO SHOULD READ THIS

Husbands, read this book! Please read this book. If you only have time to read short books, this is the book for you.

Wives, if you want to see how a real man loves, read this.

This book would also be good for anyone considering marriage – this will help you see what marriage is really all about.

RATING

Great! An amazing book. I will lend this out many times…and read it many times.

Here is a video of his resignation speech (quoted above):

Leave a Reply

