Book Review Principles

Noah reviewing a book

Each week I try and review a book on this blog, but sometimes I don’t. There is a reason for this. The reason is tied up with the answer to the question ‘why do you seem to like all the books you review?‘. The answer is because I only tend to write reviews for books I enjoy and think are worth you reading.

Here are my reasons for writing book reviews:

  • So that my church and friends will have a way of finding out what good books are available
  • So that people doing a search on the book can find an encouraging review (if it is deserved)

So, why don’t I review weak Christian books?

  • Some of them are written by heretics or wolves in sheep’s clothing and I don’t want to waste my time on them
  • Some are written by great Christians I respect who just happen to have written a not-so-good book – and I don’t think it’s necessary to point that out. Plus, you might really like it.

In light of this I have a set format to my reviews:

  • Overview of the book
  • Strong points
  • Weak points
  • Quotes
  • Who should read this book
  • Rating

My rating will be simple….GOOD or GREAT book. Good will mean that it is worth reading if you ever get the chance, but don’t worry if you don’t. Great will mean I think people really should read this book…go out and buy it.

So, that is why and how I review books.

Leave a Reply

