Book Review: A Praying Life

Buy this book. Go on, buy it. Buy it now! A praying life: Connecting with God in a distracting word by Paul Miller is an absolute gem of a book. It is literally amazing.

So, buy it!

Ok, you want to know more? Let me tell you why it is so amazing:

I have read a number of books on prayer and they always leave me condemned. Either they make prayer such a super spiritual pursuit that you need to retreat to a cave and spend hours every day in solitude (which is impossible in my life…well, impossible if I am going to live a life of obedience to the gospel) and so I feel like a failure…not able to earn favour with the Father. Thus, condemnation. Or, I read the book, get excited that I can revolutionise my prayer time, start a new prayer regime, do well for a fortnight, and then fall. I fail. Again, condemnation.

So, when my friend Andrew Norbury raved about this book, I was a little sceptical, but I really trust his opinion, so I gave it a go. From the first chapter I was captivated, shocked, humbled, relieved, inspired and set free to pray!

I don’t want to give too much away – you need to read the book. So, here are some highlight ‘Miller Time’ thoughts:

  • ‘Prayer is meant to be the conversation where your life and your God meet’
  • ‘God taught me to pray through suffering’
  • ‘Learning to pray doesn’t offer us a less busy life; it offers us a less busy heart. In the midst of the outer busyness we can develop an inner quiet’
  • ‘The criteria for coming to Jesus is weariness. Come overwhelmed with life. Come with your wandering mind. Come messy”

Miller mixes his personal story of prayer and bringing up a daughter with autism, good theology, realistic insights into the gospel, and practical advice and actions. It even has some diagrams.

If, like me, you struggle with prayer and life, get this book.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Praying Life

Leave a Reply

