My Greatest Fear

What is your greatest fear?

What really scares you?

What brings you out in a cold sweat?

For me, it’s revelation. Being found out. People realising what I am REALLY like. God treating me as I deserve.

In the last blog Post (which was written by my wife Becca) we were reminded of the good news of Isaiah 1:18:

“Come now, let us settle the matter,”
says the LORD.
“Though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red as crimson,
they shall be like wool.”

This is the amazing gospel message that all our sins are covered by God’s grace given in Christ’s redeeming work on the Cross. Remember the little boy that looked at the snow and said “all gone!” – everything had disappeared – hidden by the snow.

This is what happens to our sins…they are taken away, as far as the East is from the West.

But, what happens when it stops snowing? What happens when the snow begins to melt?

Things are revealed. The hidden is exposed. The forgotten is remembered.

This is my greatest fear….God’s grace melting away. Christ’s atoning blood disappearing.

I thank God that Isaiah 1:18 isn’t a complete simile! I praise Him that His grace is not like British snow (here for a little while, and then gone). I am humbled that His Grace is sufficient.

Leave a Reply

