The heart is an idol factory

Margaret Jackson concluded Sunday’s sermon with a very honest and powerful poem.

Here it is for you to meditate on and pray through.

Jesus, I’ve forgotten

The words that you have spoken:

Promises that burned within my heart

Have now grown dim.

With a doubting heart I follow

The paths of earthly wisdom –

Forgive me for my unbelief,

Renew the fire again.

I have built an altar

Where I worship things of man;

I have taken journeys

That have drawn me far from you.

Now I am returning

To your mercies ever flowing:

Pardon my transgressions,

Help me love you again.

And all your tender mercies

Like a river of forgiveness,

Ever flowing without end,

I bow my heart before you

In the goodness of your presence,

Your grace forever shining

Like a beacon in the night.

Leave a Reply

