Precious remedies #1

At the start of the year I challenged you to read 10 minutes a day, 5 days a week. I worked out here that you could read 6 books a year on that commitment.  So far I have read When sinners say I do and God is the gospel. I am now on precious remedies against Satan’s devices.

I’ll be honest, I am loving this book, it is absolute gold dust. So much so, I am going to slow my reading, to make sure that I don’t miss and then not apply what I am reading. I blogged here why that is.

So, I am going to start putting up precious quotes from the book most days to encourage and challenge.

Today, Brooks was looking at how little sins lead to bigger ones, and said this clear statement:

Sin is of an encroaching nature; it creeps on the soul by degrees, step by step, until it has the soul to the very height of sin.


He then went on to illustrate it with our use of Scripture, which is very pertinent for today’s church:

By all this we see, that the yielding to lesser sins, draws the soul to the committing of

greater.

Ah! how many in these days have fallen, first to have low thoughts of Scripture

and ordinances, and then to slight Scripture and ordinances, and then to make a nose of

wax of Scripture and ordinances, and then to cast off Scripture and ordinances, and

then at last to advance and lift up themselves, and their Christ-dishonoring and souldamning

opinions, above Scripture and ordinances.

This is a warning we must all heed and search our hearts about.

Leave a Reply

