What I should have preached…

John 17

On Sunday I preached through the middle section of Jesus’ prayer in John 17. It is a beautiful passage that shows the intimacy of the Father and the Son, as well as demonstrating to us why we should have a humble security in our eternal state.

However, I didn’t feel that I did the passage justice. I knew there was something missing. I was making it too complicated. Now, by God’s grace and the power of the Holy Spirit, people were spoken to. But I still wanted to know what was missing. Then it came to me.

Here is the sermon.

http://alonetone.com/jonathan/tracks/security-and-sanctification.mp3?referer=download

My structure was thus:

1. Secure (v6-10)

Why are we secure?

a. Divine initiative v6,9

b. Human response to the gospel v7-8

c. Glorious fruit v10

What should this create in us?

Humble security.

But, the disciples were sacred.

2. Scared v11-14

a. Jesus was leaving v11

b. Judas had left v12

c. The world was against them v14

So, how were they to be secure again?

Well, look at point one: It’s all of God and the gospel.

But also:

3. Sanctify (v15-19)

Our changed life shows God’s grace.

How do we change?

a. Stay in the world v15, 16, 18

b. Stay in the word v17

c. Stay in the gospel v19

________________________________________________

Ok, that’s what I taught.

But what I should have done was this:

________________________________________________

1. Secure (v6-10)

Why are we secure?

a. Divine grace v6,9

b. Human response to the gospel v7-8

c. Glorious fruit v10

What should this create in us?

Humble security.

But, the disciples were sacred.

2. Scared v11-14

a. Jesus was leaving v11

b. Judas had left v12

c. The world was against them v14

So, how were they to be secure again?

Well, look at point one: It’s all of God and the gospel.

But also, grace not only saves us, it:

3. Sanctify

Our changed life shows God’s grace.

How do we change?

a. Divine grace v17, 19

b. Human response 15, 17

In the world and in the word

c. Glorious fruit v19

Ultimately, our sanctification glorifies Jesus, who in turn glorifies the Father.

John Newton put it like this:

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear.
And Grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that Grace appear
The hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
‘Tis Grace that brought me safe thus far
and Grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me.
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
And mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess within the veil,
A life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been here ten thousand years
Bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Than when we’ve first begun.

Better late than never!

One thought on “What I should have preached…

  1. I think sanctification is clearer when you describe it as changed lives.I think I’m struggling because I’m always conentrating on what still need to be done instead of what God has already accomplished, so I never feel sanctified or completed,but then it says that it’s a continuous work so is it my usual perfectionist streak rearing it’s ugly head again that stops me from accepting it?
    What would God say to me or about me if He’s justifying me? or am I mixing it up with “justif yourself” as in explain yourself.Is it like when you join a new group and people look down on you then one of the top dogs come in and say “She’s OK,she’s with me” or am I completely off the mark.

Leave a Reply

